Tags

, , , , ,

Downton Abbey has taken America by storm! We can’t get enough of the Crawley family, their servants, or their soap opera-esque drama–obviously, me included. Instead of deciding where the Crawleys wouldn’t vacation–or “summer” as the upper crust calls it–I decided the list would be too extensive. They don’t seem like the roughing-it type to me. My list of places I would like to visit was lengthy before (thank you, “Amazing Race”) but now England–actually the whole UK–tops my list.

I would have to do some research before I went, but off the top of my head I know of two things I would want to do: Go shopping at Harrod’s and attend a service at Westminster Abbey. It’s an Anglican Church and we are Episcopalian, which is the American version of the Anglican religion. Our priest would want to hear every detail of the service!

I wonder what the Crawley family would want to see and do if they came to America?

I imagine…

*In New York they’d stay at the Plaza, and be amazed at the noise and hurriedness of the city.

 

Can’t you picture the Crawleys here? Courtesy: ny.curbed.com

 

*The women would want to go to Sachs, which the men would have no interest in so they’d catch a baseball game.

*They’d go to a Broadway musical.

*They’d stroll around Central Park.

*They’d visit art museums.

*Then they’d go to Washington, D.C., and be guests of the British ambassador.

The British Embassy in Washington, D.C. Can’t you imagine the Crawleys having tea here? Courtesy wikimedia.org

*They’d sit in on a session of Congress while they were there.

That’s my list. What do you think they would see and do?

